The Big Read

Books from Childhood – No.31 The Story of Tracy Beaker, Jacqueline Wilson

I am really sick of having to review Jacqueline Wilson books. This one was also a part of the box set my mum got me and I feel pretty much the same way about it as I do all the others. However, I so have a few good things to say about.

This book was made into a children’s T.V. series which I quite enjoyed. I actually met the guy who played Duke once when he was in a production of Kiss Me Kate.

It is set in a children’s home and is about the struggles Tracy faces as she tries to be fostered. Let me tell you something. As a ten year old your parents not being around to take care of you is unfathomable. But what? How can that? Then after you try and figure out how the whole system works based on shaky knowledge about orphans from Oliver! you become very grateful for your parents and I wouldn’t say that’s a bad thing.

Tracy narrates the story and as she describes all these wild fantasies she images about herself and her mum you know even as a child that she is lying to herself to make herself feel better and I think that that is the real success of Wilson’s most popular work.

Rating: 2.5/5

Would recommend to: All children, it’s not exclusively ‘girly’.

Standard

Leave a Reply

