The Big Read

Books from Childhood – No. 24 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, J.K. Rowling

Although this one is the lowest on the list it is nearly everyone I know’s favourite including mine. I’m excited just thinking about it and I keep remembering how it twist and turns. Oh I’m going to enjoy this review.

*Spoilers. Uch.*

Whereas I can’t stand the atmosphere in The Chamber of Secrets I couldn’t love that of Th Prisoner of Azkaban more. It is just the right level of danger for me, there is some doing-something-stupid-that’s-going-to-get-you-into-trouble like there was in the last book but also real jeopardy where Harry, Ron and Hermione have to use there wits to escape.

This story is also shrouded in mystery adding to the tension and the suspense of ‘I have to keep reading to learn all the answers’. Who is this guy Lupin on the train? Why does he disappear every now and again? Why does Snape hate him? Can he be trusted? Not to mention the constant threat of Sirius Black and the Dementors that hunt him. How did he escape? Why is he after Harry? Why do the Dementors affect Harry so much more? Who sent the Firebolt? What on earth is the Grim? Who’s the crazy psychic lady and is she really a Seer? And most importantly how the hell is Hermione going to all her classes?

And then when you finally think you know all the answers to the questions, everything turns on its head and every single one of your guesses is wrong. It is a perfectly written mystery that has to be solved with a liberal application of adventure and it is J.K. Rowling at her best.

I don’t think I can say any more. God I love this book.

Rating: 5/5 I would give it more but I am all for mathematical accuracy

Would recommend to: HOW HAVE YOU NOT READ THIS BOOK

Standard

Leave a Reply

