The Big Read

No.7 – Winnie-the-Pooh, A.A. Milne Read ??/08/13

First of all a note on the new titling format. I am no longer sorting the books into the childhood/school/adulthood categories, instead I shall be putting the date the book was completed at the end of the title. Now for a confession. When I started this project, I didn’t recorded the dates I read all the books as this was just a thing I was doing for myself why would it matter when it was read? So the first few books have only an approximate date, sorry. Also I am using the British numeric date format which is DD/MM/YY just so you don’t get confused.

Now, you are probably wondering why out of all the incredible books on this list I started with Winnie-the-Pooh. The answer is incredibly simple; it was the only one I owned. I remembered this big hardback book from my childhood and sure enough with just a little searching of my parents house I found it again. So I started reading.

Well….. I don’t really know what to say. It was a children’s book??? It’s a collection of short stories which were simple and moralistic and honestly a bit bland. There are lots of children’s books on the list and some of them I understand being there but this one? I don’t know, when the best bit of a book are its illustrations you know something is up.

I am of course reading this book as an adult and therefore I don’t think I can fairly comment on it. I am sure it is greatly loved and appreciate by children every where. I wasn’t one of those children and I am certainly not not a fan as an adult. I have heard an academic comment that all the toys are supposed to represent different mental health issues and I can definitely see that in Eeyore (depression) and Piglet (anxiety) but the stories are so fluffy, for want of a better word, it is a wonder to me that anything can be found to analyse.

And then the nonsense poems. I never really liked that as a child. Why are you making up words that mean nothing and give no information? Do you not understand the purpose of language? I was a rather serious child. I think the only word I can think of to describe Winnie-the-Pooh is nice. But it is one ticked off the list so onwards and upwards.

Rating: N/A I don’t feel qualified to comment (but I did give it 2 stars on Goodreads)

Would recommend to: young children who like fluffy things.

Standard

Leave a Reply

