The Big Read

No.59 – Artemis Fowl, Eoin Colfer Read 04/09/13

Now this is going to be a very short review because I have little to say on this book which isn’t negative and I hate moaning on the internet so here we go.

I imagine that this was one of those books that was written and publicised to get boys to read. I’m not sure if you are familiar with this phenomenon but when I was in school it seemed that every new children’s book released, every new book we got in the library was part of this programme whose soul aim was to get boys to read. I felt this was a little unfair because there are many books that I believe have unisex appeal, I know I loved Horrid Henry, but no these books were all snot and poo and football and Artemis Fowl, although a little better, is one of them.

Now I came to this book and I read the blurb and it seemed like fantasy adventure and I thought “I’m going to like this” but no. It can only be described as ‘boy-ey’. So you can understand why I, aged 19 and female, really didn’t enjoy reading this book.

I remember once my brother reading a review of the Pokemon movie in the newspaper and he said how sorry he felt for the poor adult reviewer who had to go and sit through the Pokemon movie. Having read this book I can now sympathise.

Rating: 2/5

Would recommend to: boys 7-11

 

Standard

One thought on “No.59 – Artemis Fowl, Eoin Colfer Read 04/09/13

Leave a Reply

