The Big Read

No. 47 – A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens Read 30/4/14

If you want a really bizarre reading experience read A Christmas Carol in March. I don’t know why I read it in March it must have been the next one on the shelf or something, but yeah read it in no earlier than November 3oth.

I don’t know if there is a person in the English speaking world who doesn’t know the story of A Christmas Carol. There are a million different adaptations including a musical, which I was in once as the Ghost of Christmas Future aka Blind Old Hag. I thing the first version I saw was the Muppet’s but anyway I knew exactly what I was in for before reading the book.

Now for once I didn’t get stuck in the middle of Dickens! This may be because A Christmas Carol is only 104 pages long. But I like it short, somehow it makes Scrooge’s redemption more poignant because there isn’t an enormous section of waffle about the awful conditions of the poor. It feels like the length of the book reflects just how quickly you can become a bitter, twisted miser.

I also love the characters. Mr and Mrs Fezziwig make me feel all warm and happy inside and I don’t think there is a person alive who doesn’t feel so sorry for Tiny Tim. Although this book screams “MORAL” at you before smashing you in the face with a prize turkey it is done in such a way that I didn’t withdraw from the story to roll my eyes. In the end you feel sorry for Scrooge and are genuinely pleased he saw the error of his ways; he feels like a real person not just an instrument of the story.

It is a wonderful Christmas story, one that focuses on ‘the true meaning of Christmas’. Although that sounds horribly cringe-worthy it is a book about family and charity and it is a really nice reminder of what Christmas should be. There isn’t really much else to say about it other than don’t read it in March.

Rating: 4/5

Would recommend to: make you feel Christmas-y

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

