Other Books 2013/14

Other Books – Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell Read 1/5/14

This is a very different kind of book for me for one thing it is a book aimed at people like me; young women who like reading. Now usually I stay clear of books like this because contrary to popular opinion I don’t like reading about people like me. It was the same when I was a child with Jacqueline Wilson, I don’t want to read about real life I want to escape it.

Anyway, I had read and heard so much about this book online that I bought a copy. Yes I actually bought a brand new copy of this book from The Book Depository something unheard of for me. I get almost everything I read second hand from charity shops or if it is a new book it was given to me as a present. I must admit there is nothing quite like the pleasure of a new book.

As with most YA literature this Fangirl is very easy to read primarily because the text is bigger and spaced further apart which I love! I want to enjoy reading I don’t want to have to strain my eyes to read some impossibly fine text just so you can make the book under 500 pages. On top of the pleasing typeface it is just an easy story to get into. A young girl leaves for university and will have to be separated from her twin for the first time. She is reluctant about going as she is rather reclusive and would rather spend all her time writing fan fiction.

The premise is simple but what makes it different is the references to internet culture which are so often wildly overlooked or misinterpreted by mainstream media. Now if you are reading this blog you are probably pretty familiar with the way the internet works but I must admit it was strange to see this world that I had previously viewed as secret, laid bare for all to read. Rowell has portrayed so accurately my generation it is a bit like we’ve been found out and now the adults are on to us. I feel like in 50 years time this book will be taught as a guide to the early 21st century.

Unfortunately for me this was the most interesting part of the book. I put the book down in the middle because it had gotten a little slow, which was a shame because when I picked it up again there was quite a twist. It was all pretty routine up until I stopped reading then it got a little more my cup of tea; less boy drama more hard hitting life stuff (very intelligent phrasing there).

If I had to describe it I would say it was alright. Interesting and I have never read anything like it before but not my cup of tea.

Rating: 3/5

Would recommend to: young girls who like reading or parents who want to understand why their teenage daughter spends all her time in her room.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

