Other Books 2013/14

Other Books – Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen Read 16/5/14

Two non challenge books in a row. I know. I don’t even have the excuse that they were for college either. I can only say that I read this book next because I was homesick for Hampshire and nothing is more Hampshirian than Jane Austen, except possibly Charles Dickens on a New Forest pony riding through Winchester.

This was the only the second Jane Austen I had read, the first being Pride and Prejudice some years earlier, and I was ready for it to be a struggle. But it wasn’t it was majestic. That is only how I can describe it I floated through this book. I love it so much that I am going to give it the title of My Favourite Book.

Quite a bold statement I know but that is the only way I can get across the joy that this book brought me. I don’t know if I just read it at the right time in my life or if it would have always had the same impression on me but I know I shall treasure the experience of reading it my entire life.

Elinor and Marianne Dashwood are forced from their home when their father dies and their half brother and his scheming wife cheat them out of their inheritance. With their mother they are forced to move to a small cottage in Devonshire and must rebuild their lives in a much more modest style. Elinor Dashwood is one of my favourite characters ever written;I have never sympathised with a character more. The story that she shares with her sister is so moving and there is that social commentary that I love of Jane Austen.

Yet, this book is also so funny. If you think that Mrs Bennet is the only outrageous old lady in Austen’s work you need to read Sense and Sensibilty for Lady Middleton. She is so well observed, so well written and it brings me great comfort to know that the middle-aged aunt who always teases you about getting married at family gathering has been making young women cringe for 200 years.

Rating: 5/5

Would recommend to: classics fans.

Standard

Leave a Reply

