Other Books 2013/14

Other Books – A Less Boring History of the World, Dave Rear Read 8/7/14

I like to read non-fiction every once in a while when I am bored with novels or just see something that grabs my fancy. This was the case with this book, I love world history and it looked like a funny summary of all the major events that shaped our planet.

I must admit I was a little bit disappointed. It is very brief, I mean I expected it to be brief how much world history can you cover in under 300 pages? But I learnt more about the history of the world in my Costume History class than in this book.

It has a very British approach to history making rather light of everything that should be a bit more serious and providing rather pointless details for the sake of amusement. That being said it gives rather a fair representation of all nations, except the French because hating the French is a British institution, and is quite willing to admit that Britain isn’t all that marvellous either.

It was quite funny. I can’t remember anything else about it.

Rating: 3/5

Would recommend to: leave on the shelf.

Standard

Leave a Reply

