Other Books 2015

Other Books – Let it Snow, John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle Read 2/1/15

My first book of the new year. I had heard a lot bout it, I like John Green it was Christmas and I felt like reading something seasonal.

I should probably talk about my relationship with YA or Young Adult literature. If I’m honest I don’t really like it and it seems to me that I am one of the few people on the internet who feel that way. Every now and again I read a YA book and I enjoy it but I would never usually go into a book store and go to the YA section. Nor would I desperately wait for the new book in a YA series to be released. This isn’t to say that I think YA isn’t proper literature, I disagree with that statement whole heartedly, I just prefer to read about people who are different to me and quite a lot of the time, YA is told from the point of view of teenage girls.

But Let it Snow. First off it is really Christmasy in a rather unconventional way. The snow of course helps but each writer somehow manages to capture that feeling of Christmas when people who would usually scowl at you in the street smile instead. The book is split into 3 stories that all cross over each other at various points. The first story, by Maureen Johnson, was definitely my favourite, I liked the narrator, Jubilee, the most and I found the whole ‘my parents might go to prison over a collectable Christmas village’ hilarious.

The second story, John Green, I wasn’t so hot on and I think it is because I know so many people like the characters of this story. It was silly teenagers doing silly teenager stuff. Some friends set out on a race to a Waffle House which has unexpectedly become host to a squad of cheerleaders. It reminded me quite a lot of the road trip section of Paper Towns, lots of banter, a race against the clock. The part I did like about this story was the romance. It felt plausible, possibly because the characters were so realistic, but it made a nice change to have a love story without bells and whistle that starts with a date to Starbucks.

The final story, Lauren Myracle, oh dear. At first I didn’t like it at all. The narrator Addie is awful and I really thought I can’t put up with this any longer. Then you realise she is supposed to be awful. This last story is about her becoming a better person. Admittedly her transformation is heavily on the side of Christmas Miracle because I have never known anyone go through so much personal development in an afternoon but hey it’s Christmas. This just wasn’t my thing. My only real criticism of this story is that when the stories converge and the characters from the previous two stories appear in Myracle’s, she kills them with her writing. It is such a shame because they just flop and lose all depth. This means the book ends on rather a low point and the ending had such potential if only the other writers had chipped in a little the end could have been glorious.

Rating: 3/5

Would recommend to: make you feel a little fuzzy inside when it’s cold outside.

Standard

Leave a Reply

