The Big Read

No. 46 – Animal Farm, George Orwell Read 2/7/15

Now if you have been with me here at Bernie and Books for a while, first of all thanks for sticking around, but also I am sure you will know my feelings about the only other work by George Orwell I have read Nineteen Eighty-Four. I shall say no more but read the review if you like. I approached Animal Farm with a little trepidation but I tried to keep an open mind.

Animal Farm is the story of Manor Farm where the animals over throw and drive out their farmer Jones. At first the animals form and live in a peaceful republic but the pigs, Snowball and Napoleon start to use their superior intelligence for their own gains. Now it was quite obvious from the first page that this book is a political satire and a criticism of communism, I had expected nothing less from Orwell, but it says an awful lot about human nature. “Human nature? But it’s about animals!” I hear you cry and that is true but Orwell uses the different animals to show the different levels of society. It is very cleverly done, the horses working tirelessly without a thought for themselves, the sheep blindly following whatever they are told, the ducks and chickens doing their small part and my favourite of all the cat, who slyly manages to avoid doing any work are all people I have seen in social structures around the world.

With the pigs Orwell shows brilliantly how power can be abused and manipulated. How those with power can very subtly oppress and make you believe you are free at the same time. This book was written in 1943-44 and it is almost like a dummies guide to understanding what was happening in dictatorships across the world at that time. It said on the cover of my edition it was a obvious criticism of Stalin but it can also be read as a criticism of Hitler, Mussolini and any other dictator you can think of. Most tellingly it is still relevant today. From North Korea to Syria and Iraq, even in Britain I see the horses and I see the pigs. This book has made me ask are we really equal?

It is an excellent political statement. I just can’t stand the narrative. It is all statement no story. At times I felt like I was reading a non-fiction book rather than a novella. Perhaps this is was original when Orwell was writing. Perhaps people weren’t used to analysing a text for its political subtleties so it had to be brutally honest. I don’t know. I just like to be credited with a bit more intelligence as a reader. I have thought long and hard about this because I didn’t want my previous experience with Orwell to influence me and I see much more than I did with Nineteen Eighty-Four ‘the point’ of the book but I still have issues with the method.

Rating: 3/5

Would recommend to: anyone trying to understand politics.

Standard

Leave a Reply

